• Empire: What Ruling the World Did to the British

    • (Average rating 3.78 / 614 ratings / 59 reviews)

    RM 54.95

    Product Unavailable. For enquiry, please email to contact@mph.com.my

    • Category : humanities-and-biography
    • ISBN Code: 9780670919598
    • Format : Paperback
    • By (Author): Paxman, Jeremy
    • Publisher: Viking
    • Published Date: 01 Jun 2012

     

    * This product is zero-rated GST. Price payable is exclusive of GST * Discount valid for Online Purchase(s) only. Not applicable for purchases at MPH outlets.
    Price may change from time to time as advised by the publishers

From the bestselling author of "The English" comes "Empire", Jeremy Paxman's history of the British Empire accompanied by a flagship 5-part BBC TV series, for readers of Simon Schama and Andrew Marr. The influence of the British Empire is everywhere, from the very existence of the United Kingdom to the ethnic composition of our cities. It affects everything, from Prime Ministers' decisions to send troops to war to the adventurers we admire. From the sports we think we're good at to the architecture of our buildings; the way we travel to the way we trade; the hopeless losers we will on, and the food we hunger for, the empire is never very far away. In this acute and witty analysis, Jeremy Paxman goes to the very heart of empire.

As he describes the selection process for colonial officers ('intended to weed out the cad, the feeble and the too clever') the importance of sport, the sweating domestic life of the colonial officer's wife ('the challenge with cooking meat was "to grasp the fleeting moment between toughness and putrefaction when the joint may possibly prove eatable"') and the crazed end for General Gordon of Khartoum, Paxman brings brilliantly to life the tragedy and comedy of Empire and reveals its profound and lasting effect on our nation and ourselves.

Jeremy Paxman was born in Yorkshire and educated at Cambridge. He is an award-winning journalist who spent ten years reporting from overseas, notably for "Panorama". He is the author of five books including "The English". He is the presenter of "Newsnight" and "University Challenge" and has presented BBC documentaries on various subjects including Victorian art and Wilfred Owen.

 


Goodreads Reviews

(Average rating 3.78 / 614 ratings / 59 reviews)

Bestsellers in humanities-and-biography

MPH - Empire: What Ruling the World Did to the British ISBN - 9780670919598