• How England Made the English: From Why We Drive on the Left to Why We Don't Talk to Our Neighbours

    RM 54.95

    Out of Stock. For enquiry, please email to contact@mph.com.my

    • Category : humanities-and-biography
    • ISBN Code: 9780670919147
    • Format : Paperback
    • By (Author): Mount, Harry
    • Publisher: Penguin UK
    • Published Date: 04 Apr 2013

     

    * This product is zero-rated GST. Price payable is exclusive of GST * Discount valid for Online Purchase(s) only. Not applicable for purchases at MPH outlets.
    Price may change from time to time as advised by the publishers

Harry Mount's How England Made the English: From Why We Drive on the Left to Why We Don't Talk to Our Neighbours is packed with astonishing facts and wonderful stories.

Q. Why are English train seats so narrow?

A. It's all the Romans' fault. The first Victorian trains were built to the same width as horse drawn wagons; and they were designed to fit the ruts left in the roads by Roman chariots.

For readers of Paxman's The English, Bryson's Notes on a Small Island and Fox's Watching the English, this intriguing and witty book explains how our national characteristics our sense of humour, our hobbies, our favourite foods and our behaviour with the opposite sex are all defined by our nation's extraordinary geography, geology, climate and weather.

You will learn how we would be as freezing cold as Siberia without the Gulf Stream; why we drive on the left hand side of the road; why the Midlands became the home of the British curry. It identifies the materials that make England, too: the faint pink Aberdeen granite of kerbstones; that precise English mix of air temperature, smell and light that hits you the moment you touch down at Heathrow.

 


Bestsellers in humanities-and-biography

MPH - How England Made the English: From Why We Drive on the Left to Why We Don't Talk to Our Neighbours ISBN - 9780670919147